What to do when your Faith is on Empty.

Have you ever been in a “Dead Spot” when you’re trying get online with your laptop or Smart Phone? There are few things more frustrating than not having enough bars to connect. Without a strong connection, even if we have the best computer in the world, it is powerless to help us connect to what we need and that hilarious picture you were ready to load on facebook has to wait!

Faith is a lot like that. Have you ever been in a place in life where you felt like you have lost your connection? You pray and read the Bible and do all the stuff that you’re “supposed” to do but your Spiritual Meter doesn’t even seem to have one bar of strength and no matter how hard you try, you can’t seem to get through I think we’ve all been there!

The Bible teaches us clearly that Faith is a vital necessity, “And without faith it is impossible to please God” (Hebrews 11:6), so what do we do when our Faith is running on empty? Thankfully, the Bible gives us some clear and practical instructions for what to do when our Faith is running low…

1. Ask God. Jesus taught us that God wants to give us every good thing and He lets us find those good things we consistently seek and ask to receive.

“The apostles said to the Lord, “Increase our faith!Luke 17:5

““Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.” Matthew 7:7

2. Connect with Other Believers. God never intended for our Faith to be lived out in isolation, so make the effort be in in a life-giving church and invest in friendships with other Believers and your Faith will start increasing. Faith is Contagious!

“And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds, not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.Hebrews 10:24-25

3. Trust God, Not Your Feelings. Choose to Trust God’s promises instead of your fickle feelings. Faith isn’t based on emotion, but on a choice to believe that God is Powerful, Loving, Perfect and He is with you!

“Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.” Hebrews 11:1

Wherever you are in your Faith right now, please remember that God loves you and has extraordinary plans for your life! Choose to Trust and Obey Him and He will always lead you down the right path.

I’d love to hear from you. What would you add to this list? What have you done to increase faith in your own life? 

 

8 thoughts on “What to do when your Faith is on Empty.

  1. my faith is getting stronger as we speak almost 2yrs ago i also most lost my life to someone elses drama my face and arms got cut up real bad i had over 400 stitches. The cut on my face missed my juggler vein by inches and because my life was spared i know that god was with me then and he`s with always the situation changed my life so that me and my 13yr old son joined a church and got baptised. My life is getting better by the minute i praise god everyday for saving my life he still has a plan for me he didnt spare my life for nothing and for that oli am greatful.:-)

  2. Tyler Gordon says:

    What happens when the object of your faith proves unreliable? You give up on it, maybe not immediatly, But how many failures would you tolerate before saying never again?
    Once faith is lost, it is very difficult to regain. The ability to believe isnt the problem; it is the object of your faith that has proven to be untrustworthy.
    The Ultimate faith of course is Jesus Christ, Because “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today, yes and forever” (Heb 13:8) The fact that God is immutable is what makes Him eminently Trustworthy. God cannot change, Nor can His Word. “The grass withers, the flower fades, but the word of our God stands forever” (Isa 40:8) God is faithful and we can put our trust in Him.

  3. Kalessia Cooperwood says:

    I don’t know what else to do but have faith in God after looking back over my life! There were times I overcame obstacles, endured hardships and faced a lot of tribulation but as I prayeed about I know no one but God brought me out. In the midst of those prayers, I believed God would and when he did it only instilled more faith in me. As I think about the word of God and how he did so many things that man would find impossible, made so many miracles happen, I know he can do the same for me. When I get weak, i call on the name of Jesus! Last Sunday’s church message was on faith and the pastor reminded us that Faith means- Facing, Adversity, Intimately Trusting Him!

  4. inés de l'orange says:

    Your timing is impeccable! Reblogged your post here: http://inesdelorange.wordpress.com/2012/08/30/what-to-do-when/

    Blessings!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 775 other followers

