Suiting up for Battle

The first time I suited up for tackle football, I was scared to death! I was a scrawny ten year old, and the stakes were a lot higher than they had been in flag football where I knew I wasn’t going to get bulldozed to the ground by some dude who already had facial hair. The one bit of solace I had was knowing I had the right protective gear. I made sure my helmet was fastened, my shoulders pads were tight, and everything was covered the way it needed to be. The equipment gave me the confidence and protection I needed to engage in an epic, Pee Wee League rumble!

In life, we’re in a series of battles. Chances are, you’re in the middle of one right now. God doesn’t want us going into battle unprotected, so He has given us the “equipment” we need for our protection and ultimately our victory. Below is a passage of Scripture from Ephesians which explains what “The Armor of God” is all about and how your can wear it well. I’ve put some additional points in bold to help encourage you.

“Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes.” Ephesians 6:10-11

God created you to be a Conqueror.

“For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.” Ephesians 6:12

To win the battle, you must know your enemy’s tactics. 

“Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.” Ephesians 6:13

To win the battle, you must follow God’s Game plan. His plans will always work out better than yours!

“Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.” Ephesians 6:14-16

God has given us everything we need for Victory! 

One thought on “Suiting up for Battle

  1. Ash says:

    I like this. I always take something new from this passage

Leave a Reply

