How do you know if you are Saved?

“How great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are!” 1 John 3:1 

I’m writing this post from a hospital where just yesterday, my beautiful wife gave birth to our third son. With the exception of God’s Saving Grace, there’s no greater gift from God than Children. Before my baby boy has done a thing to earn my adoration, I already love him with an unconditional love that only a parent can understand. When I hold him in my arms, I get a glimpse of the love our Heavenly Father has for us. I’m just an imperfect human father, so multiply my love by infinity and you’ll see what God wants for His Children.

I don’t want my kids going through life not knowing if they’re part of my family and God doesn’t want you going through life not knowing if you’re part of His family. You can know if your’e saved! God wants you to have that confidence:

“Whoever has the Son has life; whoever does not have the Son of God does not have life. I write these things to you who believe in the name of the Son of God so that you may know that you have eternal life.” 1 John 5:12-13

Still don’t feel peace? Here’s why...

About fifteen years ago there was a popular World War II movie called “Saving Private Ryan” (trust me, this is leading somewhere). The premise of film is that there is a young Soldier (Private Ryan) whose brothers have been killed in battle. To spare his family the agony of losing all of their sons, the government orchestrates a rescue mission to save him and send him home. The rescue team is led by a no-nonsense Army Captain who seems to believes that the whole mission is a bad idea.

In the film’s final scene, the Captain is fatally wounded while fulfilling his mission and saving the young Private. With his dying words, he looks the soldier in the eyes and says “Earn this! Earn it.” The film flashes forward many decades and now Private Ryan is an old man standing at the grave of that Captain. You can tell he has been haunted by those words and trying to “earn it” all his life, but he never knows for sure if he has measured up. He pleads with the grave seeking approval, but he finds none.

What’s the point?

Many People believe they have put their faith in Jesus, but they also believe that they have to earn what He did for them on the cross. Here’s the Good News, when Jesus was hanging on that cross, dying to save you, He did not use His dying words to say, “Earn this.” Do you know what He said instead? I pray these Words give you a supernatural peace that you’ve never felt before. Jesus said, “It is finished!”

Did you catch that? It is finished. That means done, complete, sealed, finished! That’s God’s Gift of Grace. Jesus has done ALL the work already! You couldn’t possibly earn it even if you tried with everything you had, and God never expected you to. If you have put your faith in Jesus and in the Saving Work He finished for you, then you are saved! Let God lift away the weight of doubt from your shoulders. You were never meant to carry it.

If you have never put your faith in Jesus Christ, you have reason to have doubt. You are not saved, but you can be right now. The Bible says that if you confess that Jesus is LORD and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, then you will be saved (Romans 10:9). It’s not a duty for you to earn, it’s a gift for you to receive by faith. Reach out to your Savior and love God with your whole heart, mind, soul and strength. He’s already done all the work and He did it out of love for you. It is finished.

 

 

3 thoughts on “How do you know if you are Saved?

  1. Ben Edwards says:

    My biggest question ever since I experienced a revival in my faith this summer has been this: what qualifies as “belief”? I know we will never know what is in the hearts of others, and I don’t think there’s even a quota or standard you could put into words of what exactly that belief is, but it’s what I’ve always asked. Does the mere stating of “I confess that Jesus is LORD and believe in my heart that God raised Him from the dead” (for lack of a better term) earn, your title as a Christian? I could go on to cite hundreds of verses, but “a faith without works is dead” seems to be the one in the front of my mind. I’m not saying I believe in works for the sake of works. Help?

    • soulcaffeine says:

      Ben, You bring up a great question that people have been asking for a long time. The way I see it, the Bible makes it clears in Romans that we are saved by Grace through faith alone but then in James, the Bible says that faith without works is dead. Since the Bible doesn’t contradict itself, we know that both of those statements are true. The way I see it is that we are not saved by our good works but rather saved for good works. God has good things prepared in advance for us to do and an authentic faith will lead to good works. Any faith that doesn’t lead to works isn’t a genuine, saving faith. A lot of guys a lot smarter than me have said a lot on these issues, and I encourage you to explore in more detail if you need. Thanks for taking the time to read the blog. i hope you find encouragement and insight there as you continue to grow close to God.
      Your Brother in Christ, Dave

  2. maria cano says:

    This makes a lot of sense now that I have read this.

Leave a Reply

