What is Worship?

The Bible has a lot to say about worship. It’s a word we hear a lot both inside and outside of church, but if you’re like me, you haven’t always had a clear grasp on what “worship” really means. As I’ve studied the Bible, here’s the most basic definition I can come up with…

Worship is the act of giving our praise, our commitment and our life to someone or something. 

We all are worshipping something. Whatever in your life is most important is the object of your worship. For some people that is money. For others, it’s pleasure or success or fill-in-the-blank. We’re born with a desire to worship. I guess that’s why we get so enthusiastic at concerts and football games. God wants us to channel all of our unbridled enthusiasm and adoration towards Him. As He becomes the object of our worship, our lives will come into focus the way God intended. 

Let’s explore some of what the Bible has to teach us on this important subject. Below I’ve put the text of one of the most famous conversations in the New Testament. Here, Jesus is talking with a Samaritan Woman about what true worship means.  I’ve put some additional points in bold to help you apply the principles Jesus is teaching…

You Samaritans worship what you do not know; we worship what we do know, for salvation is from the Jews. John 4:22

You must Know God in order to Worship God. He is not looking for fans or distant admirers, He’s looking for committed followers who intimately know Him and Love Him. 

“Yet a time is coming and has now come when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth, for they are the kind of worshipers the Father seeks.” John 4:23

We must approach God with authenticity and transparency. 

“God is spirit, and his worshipers must worship in spirit and in truth”.” John 4:24

God wants you to come to Him with your Whole Heart.

The woman said, “I know that Messiah” (called Christ) “is coming. When he comes, he will explain everything to us.” Then Jesus declared, “I who speak to you am he.” John 4:25-26

All this is possible only through Christ. 

 

Here are a few more aspects of Worship…

1. Worship is an act of Sacrifice.

“Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God—this is your spiritual act of worship.” Romans 12:1 

2. Worship is an act of Obedience.

“If you love me, you will obey what I command.” John 14:15

3. Worship is an act of Adoration.

“And they were calling to one another: “Holy, holy, holy is the LORD Almighty; the whole earth is full of his glory.” Isaiah 6:3

In everything you do, from your Sunday Morning Church attendance to your Monday morning office meeting to playing catch with your kids, do it all to the best of your ability for the Glory of God and you’ll be on your way to a lifestyle of worship.

One thought on “What is Worship?

  1. Emma says:

    This is exactly what I needed to here today!! I woke up, and instantly my mind was consumed and worried about why this guy that I like doesn’t like me. Instead I should worry on how I can best serve and glorify our Creator, and how the only guy I’ll ever need is already completely, head-over-heels in love with me! ❤

Leave a Reply

