The Best Advice I’ve ever Heard

I’ve been blessed to have been around some wise people in my life. I always try to pick their brains and ask for advice in the hopes that some of their sage wisdom might rub off on me. Over the years, I’ve kept track of the “Greatest Hits” and just like they were given freely to me, I’d like to give them to you. I hope and pray that these words help you like they’ve helped me!

In no particular order…

“Don’t Take it Personally.” My Mom is one of the most forgiving people I’ve ever known, and because she doesn’t hold onto grudges, she has more peace in her life than most anyobody you could meet. At one point in my youth, I was offended for some reason by some insignificant thing somebody had done, and she just said, “Honey, you can’t take it personally. It’s their issue and you don’t have to me it your grudge. Forgive and move forward.” I’ve tried to repeat that advice and it’s helped me have some of that peace that she’s found.

“Live for Jesus.” We all want to live for something bigger than ourselves. My Dad shared this advice on video in the hospital room when my third son was born. I was going around the room asking people to share a nigget of wisdom that we could all watch and be reminded of when watching the video later. Dad simply said, “Life for Jesus” which I’ve seen him live out in his own life and I can’t think of a better way to live. Following Jesus doesn’t just bring benefits in this life, but anything we do in this life for Jesus, lasts for eternity!

Don’t spend more than you make.” There are few things more enslaving than debt and we live in a world that is addicted to it. I”ve definitely had my share of debt, but my wife and I have worked to apply this simple principle to our own finances and it’s brought so much freedom to our lives and it’s also allowed us to be more generous than we could have been with all the limitations of maxed out credit cards.

Make sure your Spouse is always your Best Friend.” My wife Ashley is my best friend! Before we were even married, we had some wiser older couples share their wisdom and talk about how feelings change and evolve in every relationship, so a marriage can’t be based on feelings, but it can be rooted in friendship. Now don’t get me wrong, I’ve got more passion and chemistry for her than ever, but even more important than the “feelings” is our friendship. We talk about everything, we make date nights and trips a priority and we make fun a lifestyle.

“Trust the Bible.” We live in a crazy world and most people seem to have a worldview that’s rooted in…well…nothing at all. God intended for His Living Word to be our foundation, our compass and our guide through all the ups and downs of life. It holds the keys to life, grace, love, prosperity, contentment and pretty much everything else. Trust it from beginning to end and make reading it a daily part of yoru life. The people in life I’ve admired thte most are ones who make the Bible a vital part of their day.

“Leave every person better than you found them.” Every moment and every interaction is an opportunity to use our words and actions to either tear down or to build up; to encourage or discourage; to hurt or to heal. Be intentional about leaving every person better off than you found them from small acts of kindness to the biggest acts of love and sacrifice for others. This comes back to the “Live for Jesus” advice, but Jesus lived this out better than anyone in History.

That’s the best advice I’ve ever heard. Below are some that didn’t make the list but they still receive honorable mention…

“Don’t eat yellow snow.”

“Don’t post anything on facebook while you’re intoxicated.”

“Don’t get drunk in the first place.”

“Unless you’re playing with your kids, don’t spend time playing video games if you’re a grown man. That’s lame, bro.”

“Floss daily.”

“Don’t make major purchases impulsively.”

“Choose your battles wisely.”

“Tip well for good service.”

“Learn something new each day.”

“Make goals and work hard to reach them.”

“Never put money or hobbies or career ahead of people.”

“Don’t go grocery shopping while you’re hungry. You’ll buy a bunch of junk.”

“Say ‘please’ & ‘thank you””

 

 

10 thoughts on “The Best Advice I’ve ever Heard

  1. Ashley says:

    Thank you! This is perfect

  2. DAVID says:

    So True, So Authentic…Thanks for sharing.

  3. Great post…thank you 🙂

  4. Kim Savage says:

    Good advice. I can reflect on the words. Thank you for sharing the encouragement. May you be blessed.

  5. Athlone says:

    Some excellent advice! It’s funny,any of these were also given to me by one wise proe u have had the honour to know.

  6. Very Practical! Thanks for posting!

  7. shavon raji says:

    I love to be around people with knowledge and wisdom its helps me grow mentally and spiritually.. sometimes it very draining being the sharpest knife in the draw……

  8. joselyn rodriguez says:

    Love it

  9. Tebogo says:

    Wow what a powerful word of advice, May God Bless you, that’s why we need each other as Christians to encouarage each other because we meet lot of things along our lives

Leave a Reply

