Homosexuality and The Church

Homosexuality has become one of the most divisive issues in our culture and that division has also stormed into The Church. I believe it’s important for all Believers to have a Grace-filled and Truth-filled understanding of this issue from a Biblical foundation. I will do my best to address it in a few paragraphs. This post will be far from comprehensive, but I’m hoping it will spark some healthy dialogue.

I believe that most churches have done a shameful thing by singling out the Gay Community as some sort of special breed of “Super Sinners” and the schism between Evangelicals and those living a homosexual lifestyle continues to grow. I do not believe that this is God’s will or a Biblical expression of God’s love and grace. With that being said, I also know that the Bible has very set guidelines for the powerful gift of Sex. It is to be used and enjoyed within the context of a marriage between a man and a woman. Any use beyond that will eventually cause emotional, spiritual, and possibly even physical devastation. Any form of homosexual sex would fall into this category of being outside the boundaries of God’s plan or more specifically…sin.

 
If you’re living a homosexual lifestyle, please know that God loves you. He is for you. This, however, does not mean that He is for your lifestyle. Anyone of us can fall into the trap of trying to justify any type of sin, but whatever the sin (whether sexual or otherwise), if we choose to continue in it without repentance, we will slowly become more calloused and blind towards the Truth of God in our lives and find ourselves in the dangerous trap of rewriting Scripture to fit our choices instead of rewriting our choices to fit with Scripture. I encourage you to trust God enough to seek His plan for all areas of your life. The Bible teaches that His plans are plans to prosper and not to harm you; plans to give you a hope and a future (see Jeremiah 29:11).

4 thoughts on “Homosexuality and The Church

  1. agor Samuel says:

    I really appreciate your view concerning homosexual,pls condemn it more on your future write ups . am happy you did.

  2. Brandon says:

    This is the way homosexuality should be approached. True as it is that homosexuality is a sin, it is also a sin for us as Christians to completely shut them out and classify them as unreachable. No one is perfect and as much as we would like to believe that a disdainful lifestyle is worse than anything we could do, we have to remember where we come from as sinners. I know for me it was partying and drinking too much, but through Jesus I was able to overcome it. Homosexuality isn’t any different.

  3. Great post! I think you did a great job balancing God’s word and the “sin” of homosexuality. Levticus 18:22 says, “You shall not lie with a male as with a woman; it is an abomination.” Agree, God loves us equally. With homosexuality the sin can often be seen outwardly; however with many, sin is often hidden–oft times in the heart. The Bible says all sin is equal in God’s eyes. I think you handled the subject matter with great care and not spewed with hate doctrine.

    God Bless you!
    http://healingbalmcafe.wordpress.com
    @healingbalmcafe

  4. Jennifer says:

    I have been searching for the words to say to explain my feelings about this particular issue. I left my church after 5 and a half years, the only church home I’d ever know, because of this issue. Homosexuals were demonized and using your own words, held up as “Super Sinners”. It was a huge change from the, “Come as you are, God loves you” atmosphere, that I loved the church for. The lead Pastor is also running for a political office within my state.

    I left on my own accord, after much prayer and guidance, but I still struggle with what happened there. My closest friends and mature Christian mentors all still attend and truly cannot understand why I left. I have been mostly alone to deal with the hurt and pain I have experienced, in regards to my once close knit circle of Christian friends.

    Thank you for offering up your opinion on this issue. I feel much less “alone”, as I share the same opinion. More Love, More Understanding and More Humility and God’s Grace will lead people to an Authentic and Genuine relationship with Our Lord and Saviour, Jesus Christ. I praise God for working through you.

Leave a Reply

