Modern Wedding Vows

I have the privilege of marrying a lot of couples. It’s such an honor getting to be part of that moment when two people begin their journey of marriage together in that great celebration their love in the presence of God and their closest family and friends.

The downside is that most couples seal this beautiful occasion with words that are lifeless, flowery and let’s face it…BORING! The words that a bride and groom speak to each other in those moments carry such weight and significance because with those words, they’re sealing a covenant established by God. They should be a refreshing representation of the personalities of the people giving them. I’ve heard all different kinds of vows, so I’ve decided to write down some new ones just to get you thinking about wedding vows in different way…

“I promise to be your loving husband/wife until one of us is dead. We are NOT going to be a divorce statistic! We are not going to throw in the towel the moment life gets tough. That doesn’t mean that I’m going like you everyday. In fact, there will be many days that I can’t stand to be around you, but you’re still going to be stuck with me because before you and God and all these people, I’m giving you my vow. If you want proof, just look at your Crazy Family sitting there in the front row, I’m willing to spend the next 50 Thanksgivings and Christmases with them because of how much I love you! I’m promising that even when you get wrinkled up and gray, I’m going to be committed to you and I’m going to expect you to be committed to me, because commitment is the only way this thing is going to work. That’s how God intended it and I’m going to trust Him to hold us together even when the world tries to tear us apart. If you get fat, I will encourage you to lose weight, but I won’t love you less if you don’t. If you get sick, I’ll try to make you all better but I won’t love you less if you don’t. If you get Alzheimer’s and forget who I am, I will try to make you fall in love with me all over again, but I won’t love you less even if you don’t. I’m going to love you even when our future kids are depriving us of sleep and sanity. I’m going to love you whether we’re rich or poor. No matter what plans God has for us, my plans will always include you! I will put your dreams ahead of my own. I will spend the rest of my life trying to make your life better and everyday I will thank God for the privilege of loving you, serving you, being your best friend and walking through this life holding your hand. I love you! I marry you! Can we kiss now?”

8 thoughts on “Modern Wedding Vows

  1. carolyn says:

    My vows would sound and feel so different today! “I promise to fight for your heart, even when you push me away and my fear of rejection is yanking me toward a way out. I promise to reserve judgment and give you the benefit of the doubt, even when my pride demands I be treated with the respect I mistakenly believe I’m entitled to. I promise to dwell on your strengths, and not on your weaknesses. I promise to submit to what’s best for you and call forth the man God made you to be when you are struggling. I promise to become a student of what makes you feel loved and respected. I promise to be open to new and different ways of doing the right thing. I promise to not call my selfishness your failure.” Ooooh, I could go on and on.

  2. Kathy says:

    Love these Dave and so true! Carolyn, beautiful also. I think we could all rewrite our vows now that we have learned so much.

  3. Bonniebelle says:

    “Just look at your crazy family sitting there…” Lol!

  4. STG says:

    My husband had a great line in his vow that sounded so brash at the time but that we’ve looked back and appreciated over time. “I promise to love you in the hard times, the crappy times, and even the really, really crappy times” 🙂 We’ve had our share of those and I’m so glad he was committed to loving me through those times.

  5. Zoe says:

    I love this, I have just become a celebrant and I would love to use this as inspiration if that is okay?

Leave a Reply

