5 Simple Ways to be More Productive

Have you ever arrived at the end of your day feeling exhausted, but realizing that you can’t name anything specific you accomplished all day?

I’ve been there. More often than I would like to admit, I’ve wasted the day. I shudder to think of all the opportunities to change the the world that I’ve squandered on stuff that doesn’t amount to anything. I believe that every day is a gift from God and it contains limitless potential that we should strive to maximize for the Glory of God, the benefit of others and our own personal well being.

Here are 5 Biblical Principles that will help you add more productivity to your days:

1. Start Early. It hurts me to put that in writing, because I am NOT a “Morning Person!” Just ask my wife…I don’t hit my energetic peak until the middle of the afternoon. Still, I have to rise above my desire to hit the Snooze Button a dozen times if I want to make the most of the day and s do you! Sleep well, but don’t sleep in! The Bible says, “A little sleep, a little slumber, a little folding of the hands to rest —and poverty will come on you like a thief and scarcity like an armed man.” Proverbs 24:33-34

2. Identify the “Big 3” When the day gets away from me, it’s often because I spend my time responding to little things instead of honing in on the big things. Right at the start, identify the 3 most important tasks you must complete that day and work on them until they are complete without letting lesser tasks get in the way. Do first things first!

3. Unplug. One of the main reasons that we can’t finish our “Big 3” is that our phones are always buzzing with seemingly urgent texts and emails. Give yourself permission to turn off your phone and computer if possible to maximize your productivity without constant distractions.

4. Be fully present. Be completely focused on what is right in front of you without constantly thinking about what is next. Don’t be like the NFL receiver who drops the easy pass because he is looking ahead to the goal line instead of looking at the ball. Stay focused on the task at hand. The next steps will be here soon enough!

5. Put People First. Productivity counts for nothing if we have to steamroll over people to achieve it. As you are working, work to encourage and empower the team around you. Be their biggest supporter and you’ll discover that they in turn will be willing to support you. There’s an ancient African Proverb that says, “If you want to go fast, travel alone; but if you want to go far, travel together.” 

What productivity tips would YOU add to the list? Join the discussion and share your ideas!

One thought on “5 Simple Ways to be More Productive

  1. Matthew says:

    My tip at being more productive is to plan your work then work your plan – just do it!

Leave a Reply

