The Face of Courage

Tonight, I got a phone call from my friend, Lewis Sport. On top of being one of the nicest guys I know, he’s also one of the most inspiring. Lewis and his wife have a five-year-old son named Tavi who has been battling Leukemia for the past two years. Here’s a picture of Tavi at his Fifth Birthday Party. He’s definitely the World’s Most Courageous Pirate!

This family is so inspiring not just because of what they’re going through, but because of how they’ve chosen to respond. Instead of letting this daily struggle bring them down, they’ve chosen to trust God, lean on each other and look for opportunities to bring hope to others during this trial. For instance, Tavi often visits a friend of the family who is battling breast cancer and on his latest visit he encouraged her with the words, “Stay Strong!” 

Even in the midst of his own pain, this remarkable young man is giving strength and hope to others.

Tavi and his family are able to stay strong, because they’re relying on a strength that can only come from God. They’ve made a decision to trust God no matter what! They know that even though we live in a broken world, we serve a Perfect God who will one day set all things right, and in the meantime, they can cling to His Promises which include these:

“For I know the plans I have for you declares the LORD; plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

“And we know that God works everything together for the good of those who love Him and are called according to His purposes.” Romans 8:28

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.” James 1:2-3

“Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” Deuteronomy 31:6 

If you are going through a difficulty in your life right now, whether it’s Leukemia, or Divorce, or hardship of any kind, I pray that you will rely on the same Loving God that has brought so much Peace and Strength to Tavi and his family.

For all of you, I ask that you join me in praying for this amazing family. Pray for Tavi’s healing, pray for the family’s strength and pray that God would use their trial to bring strength to them, Glory to Himself and inspiration to millions around the world!

I’ll close with Tavi’s own words from a recent prayer…“God is Great, God is Good, God, please help me feel better, because I love you.”

5 thoughts on “The Face of Courage

  1. catricca tippin says:

    we lost a grandchild at birth a few months ago, 10.1.12, the grief was almost unbearable i wrote all you verses down so i can read them daily, i will pray for your little angel every day in my prayers god bless you all

  2. Very courageous and inspiring little pirate. Awesome post.

    Bless you for posting that.

  3. Laura Zacarias says:

    I can appreciate where you are coming from no one can give you out of the ordinary strength but God. Ill pray for little man. My two year old suffered a stroke to his brain due to meningitis left hime with severe brain injury. God has made me strong difficult to see your baby on a ventilator but I klnow wether God helas my son or not we can count on his promise. Doing gods will will bring everlasting life. God will undo all of this remain faithful as you have regardless god will bless you give your childs health again. My faith grows every day and I know if Jehovah doesn’t cure my son in this system of things he will when the new earthly paradise comes as promised in the bible. We must remain strong and not let our integrety be taken away with these difficult trials….. Have a blessed night ….

  4. Lewis Sport says:

    thanks for sharing that about Tavi !!! I will make sure to read it to him and the rest of the family this morning ! Thanks for the continued prayers for Tavi – we love you Pastor Dave!

  5. tfudge says:

    Reblogged this on Blessed Are They…. and commented:
    Excellent words of encouragement that I imagine we can all use…I know they fit the bill for me and I’m always touched when someone who is challenged with cancer or some other life altering illness/trauma chooses to live life more fully and in a more blessed manner than so many of the rest of us who are so richly blessed with good health, family, friends, food, clothing, shelter, pets, jobs, and the list goes on and on and on…may you find blessings this day in the little things in life!

Leave a Reply

